Summary. Inflection AI raised a disclosed $1.525 billion across two equity rounds as a Public Benefit Corporation building a personal AI (Pi), then—in March 2024—saw almost its entire founding team move to Microsoft under a package that was not styled as a stock purchase of the company. The UK Competition and Markets Authority later treated Microsoft’s hiring plus a non-exclusive IP license, a waiver/release, a credit-line amendment, and transition services as a single “Transaction,” found a relevant merger situation, and cleared it. Inflection the legal entity stayed alive, appointed a new CEO, and pivoted to enterprise. This teardown uses Inflection and Microsoft announcements, Inflection’s SEC Form D, and named competition-authority decisions—not press fill-ins for redacted dollars.
Why Inflection: Anthropic taught staged mega-rounds and multi-cloud strategics; OpenAI taught capped-profit structure evolving into conventional equity at hyperscale. Inflection teaches a third pattern: how value leaves a startup when the scarce asset is the team and the IP license, while equity holders are paid through corporate agreements rather than a classic change-of-control sale. The CMA, European Commission, and Bundeskartellamt each published enough structure to teach that pattern in a classroom. Runner-ups for later teardowns: Scale AI / Meta (strategic minority + founder move; Meta stake dollars still thin on primary) and Character.AI / Google (same family, thinner dollars).
Sourcing rule for this piece: every figure below comes from Inflection, Microsoft, Inflection’s Form D, or a named competition authority. Where the CMA redacts USD amounts, or Inflection’s funding release omits valuation, we write “Not disclosed” and do not import press numbers.
The timeline
Date | Event | Amount / key terms (disclosed) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
Mar 8, 2022 | Company launch | Inflection co-founded by Mustafa Suleyman, Karén Simonyan, and Reid Hoffman; incubated at Greylock as an AI-first consumer products company | |
Apr 28, 2022 (first sale); Form D filed May 13, 2022 | First equity round (Form D) | $225,000,000 total offering amount and amount sold; 27 investors; Delaware corporation; executive officers/directors: Suleyman, Hoffman, Simonyan | |
Early 2022 (company restatement) | First-round investor names | Greylock, Microsoft, Reid Hoffman, Bill Gates, Eric Schmidt, Mike Schroepfer, Demis Hassabis, Will.i.am, Horizons Ventures, Dragoneer | |
May 2023 | Product | Pi, personal AI chatbot, launched (company later restatement; CMA: UK supply from May 2023) | BusinessWire $1.3B release; CMA summary |
Jun 29, 2023 | Equity raise | $1.3B led by Microsoft, Reid Hoffman, Bill Gates, Eric Schmidt, and new investor NVIDIA; total raised $1.525B; building ~22,000 NVIDIA H100 cluster with CoreWeave and NVIDIA; company described as a Public Benefit Corporation | |
Jun 29, 2023 | Valuation | Not disclosed on Inflection’s primary | — |
Mar 19, 2024 | Microsoft hiring announcement | Suleyman joins as EVP and CEO of newly formed Microsoft AI (reports to Satya Nadella); Simonyan as Chief Scientist; several Inflection team members join; consumer AI / Copilot focus; OpenAI partnership continues | |
Mar 2024 (Associated Agreements; announced with hiring) | Non-acquisition package | CMA inventory: (a) employment offers → almost all Inflection team become Microsoft employees; (b) Non-Exclusive Intellectual Property License for Inflection IP as of agreement date, for USD[redacted]; (c) Waiver and Release by Inflection and equity holders re solicitation/hiring, for USD[redacted]; (d) Line of Credit amendment increasing available balance by USD[redacted]; (e) Transition Services Agreement (former Inflection staff support Inflection for a transition period). Expected total consideration USD[redacted] | CMA full text ¶30–34 |
Mar 19, 2024 | Remaining company | Sean White appointed CEO of Inflection the same day (per CMA) | CMA full text ¶71 |
May 20, 2024 | Post-deal leadership | White announces new CTO/COO/CPO; enterprise / AI Studio focus; API program in beta; reiterates Public Benefit Company | |
Sep 4, 2024 (full text Oct 24, 2024) | UK clearance | CMA: relevant merger situation; no realistic prospect of SLC in consumer chatbots or foundation models; not referred | CMA case page; summary PDF; full text above |
Sep 18, 2024 | EU process ends | Commission takes note that seven Member States withdrew Article 22 referral requests after Illumina/GRAIL; no EC decision. Commission had viewed the package as transferring assets needed to move Inflection’s FM/chatbot position and as a concentration under Art. 3 EUMR | |
Aug 26 / Oct 7, 2024 | Remaining Inflection commercial path | Keep consumer Pi free with planned message caps; launch Inflection for Enterprise / Inflection 3.0 and commercial API | |
Nov 29, 2024 | German authority | Bundeskartellamt: employee takeover + financing/IP agreements generally a merger under German law; would clear transaction-value threshold (> €400M consideration); discontinued—Inflection lacked substantial German operations |
Inflection did not publish a Series-letter schedule (A/B/C…) on the primaries we cite. We label rounds by what the company and Form D disclosed.
Keep reading with The AI Cap Table Pro
Every verified AI round, the full deal log, the investor directory and our daily Signal to watch. $20/month or $200/year.
Go ProA subscription gets you:
- Every verified AI round, daily
- Signal to watch: our daily investor take
- Full deal log of verified AI rounds
- Active AI investor directory
- Every fact linked to its primary source
